A Good Read

Posted on Updated on

Currently reading Chris Hitchens’ “God is not great”, and really enjoying it, although his vocabulary is rather extensive, resulting in regular visits to websters online.
He revisits many of the key arguments against religion which have already been made by Dawkins et al, but adds significant historical context. While I’m generally not a fan of historical filler, it does help clarify some issues for me.
He is also surprisingly witty, even cheeky, and I have found myself laughing out loud – something one would never expect from his work.
In summary, I have found myself itching to get to back to the book, rather than having to ‘slog’ through it as I imagined. Go read it.

3 thoughts on “A Good Read

    martin said:
    November 9, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Thank you Chris,
    We are totally in agreement with your explorations and conclusions-sounds like a good read, but if you are looking for a robust discussion/argument maybe you should try Peter!
    Also, while we have your attention are you interested in annual Pub dinner? If so do you want to organise it???

    M.

      rationalbrain said:
      November 9, 2010 at 8:08 am

      Hmmm. I have mixed feelings about that sort of discussion with friends. But maybe in a moderated environment there may be a bit more light than heat.
      Anyway, if you have any suggestions for postings, email me – perhaps distributing the authorship will be good too. I’m thinking – religion, science, pseudo-science, alternative medicine etc. you know, things that people get really worked up about. Once I’m comfortable with the tools, I may email details more broadly. what do you think?
      C, I mean R.

    Anne Kanaris said:
    November 10, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    God, nerds are sexy

Leave a Reply

