Vale Christopher Hitchens

Posted on Updated on

One of my first posts on rationalbrain was a review of ‘God is Not Great’ by Christopher Hitchens.

His writing actually served to inspire me to start this blog, so it was sad to read yesterday that he has died, aged 62. Tobacco claims another scalp.

I was a late-comer to his work, but was immediately impressed by his clear, direct and often witty writing style.

I’m sure he’s in heaven at the keyboard of his word processor.

And I’m certain he would have hated anyone saying that, even as a joke.

One thought on “Vale Christopher Hitchens

    neutralturn said:
    December 17, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I liked listening to Hitchens, indeed I think he spoke extempore better than he wrote. I particularly admired his courage in undergoing, and being filmed undergoing, water-boarding. His justification for supporting the Iraq war was feeble. I have the feeling he was initially duchessed by the neo-cons and could not bring himself subsequently to recant.

Leave a Reply

