The disturbing language of religion

Posted on Updated on

Well, either it’s a fluke, or my last couple of posts have brought out the cranks.

I received some spam from someone quoting the quran at me, and naturally had to respond, especially since I’m an equal opportunity atheist. I didn’t respond just to tear down this guy’s beliefs, nor to warn against unwanted email, but rather I was struck by the tone of the email. I’ve reproduced it below, along with my responses.

What comes through to me is the language of violence, fear and greed – violence towards those who are judged to be bad, fear of doing anything bad, and the greed inherent in living only to gain access to a promised paradise.

See what you think. The spammer’s letter begins below the fold. My comments in red.

Dear All,

Will you feel happy or sad, if you don’t have father and mother and you don’t have brothers and sisters and friends to take care of you?

No. It seems to me you have raised this question from a very selfish point of view. In fact, if you are at all interested in what makes me happy or sad, I will feel sad should there be no one for me to take care of.

Similarly, will you feel happy or sad that there is no God out there, you are on your own and there is simply no one out there to take your revenge and no one to deliver you justice, once you will die and all those thieves, culprits and criminals who have ruined your life will also be dead and there will be no one to appreciate and truly reward all the efforts and hardships which you did in the path of honesty, kindness and truthfulness?

Absolutely not. And this question is wrong on so many levels. Firstly, I don’t need a god to take care of me. I do that. Secondly, what’s all this about revenge and delivering justice? I don’t want revenge on anyone. Bad acts are punished by the laws our society has agreed upon, and that’s all I need.

Or will you feel happy or sad that there is a God, who will take your revenge and who will deliver you justice and all those criminals who have ruined your life will be punished by Him and that God will truly appreciate and reward your all the efforts and hardships that you faced in the path of goodness?

I don’t want anyone to take revenge on anyone. This is a pretty nasty, petty and inhuman point of view. Aren’t we supposed to be trying to live together harmoniously? If there were such a thing as a god (and there isn’t), wouldn’t he be horrified that his creations sit waiting for him to do the dirty work? I can imagine him saying, “For My sake, work it out you guys. Develop some sort of justice system of your own. I don’t have time to intervene for everyone who has had a goat stolen. I’ve got tsunamis and various forms of genocide to think about”.

Conclusion:

It is a truly a happy thought that there is someone out there who will truly appreciate your life in path of goodness and who will bring you true justice and who will reward you truly.

It is such a sad and dejected thought that there is no one out there and all good and evil people will finally end up same and goodness does not have any real worth than evilness. Both end up same.

Not for me, but I suggest you get some counselling to work through your paranoia about being wronged, as well as those anger issues.

Reference:

God give good tidings to righteous people.

And give glad tidings to those who believe and do righteous deeds that they will have gardens [in Paradise] beneath which rivers flow. Whenever they are provided with a provision of fruit therefrom, they will say, “This is what we were provided with before.” And it is given to them in likeness. And they will have therein purified spouses, and they will abide therein eternally.

Quran 2:25

Aslamo Alikum

That all sounds lovely. I already have a garden with flowing water, thanks all the same. And I didn’t have to die to get it. I feel sorry for you, living only for some illusory time after this life when you will get ‘paradise’, instead of living this life to the full. Here’s a tip: try helping people, and working with people, instead of waiting for someone to look after you like some spoilt child, and plotting revenge like some Universal cop.

2 thoughts on “The disturbing language of religion

    @blamer said:
    January 4, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    As non-Christians we know what it’s like to find Biblical teachings about God to be unconvincing.

    Similarly as infidels we say Quranic teachings about God aren’t convincing. Even if correct.

    More than this, the non-religious say that if His true religion isn’t convincing to outsiders who believe in Him, then there is no justice in punishing us for being merely confused and mistaken.

      rationalbrain said:
      January 4, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      Your last point reminds me of a ‘defence’ I used to deploy to a born-again christian back in uni – “surely your god, omniscient and all-powerful, will understand my position in seeking evidence for his existence, and not simply taking the word of others?” I thought this was a very charitable and dare I say, accommodationist, approach. They were the days when I guess I had an open mind, but required convincing – you know, something like a decent burning bush.
      These days, I don’t believe there’s anything that could convince me that a god exists, beyond simply a construct of the human mind.

Leave a Reply

